Conclusion

Professional Practice Portfolio (364MC)

Upon finishing University, like with most people I’m sure, my options are quite varied. These options are as follows:

Dawn has put me into contact with the Production Co-ordinator for Doctors, Stephen Capano, and she has suggested that I send him my CV on her recommendation. She has also stated that the production there is looking for a runner driver over the age of twenty-three and with a full clean drivers license.

sg5 copy

Matt and Vince have also asked me to stay in contact with them once I have finished with University.

Upon working as an extra at the end of last summer, Jenn added me on Facebook to the Midlands Actors and Extras page. The day was so much fun and the amount of interesting people that I met in one day really surprised me. Since last summer, almost on a weekly basis, posts are being added to the page, and I feel that it is a good way of making contacts and getting used to the way the industry is run as well as being on a set.
Another option is Darryl, my Dad’s Godson, who has just recently become the Deputy News Editor at ITN for ITV News. I will most certainly be emailing Darryl in the next few days to see if he can recommend anything.

A final option is to get a job outside of the industry, say at Head Leamington where I filmed for Record Store Day for my FMP, and like some points from my research in my previous post, to “learn my craft” simultaneously. That is one of the most frequent terms that has popped up in the last couple months. So if I was to pursue the screenwriting path, I am almost advised not to attempt to juggle a chaotic life within the industry, whilst trying to learn and get my work out there. According to professionals, I am going to be working towards having any input whatsoever, in say the script of a television show for the next three to five years. So I think that it might be more beneficial for me to earn some money, working a job in the day, and then going to a scriptwriting course in the evenings, writing as much as I can in my spare time, and even possibly getting some radio experience at the same time along the way.

It is most certainly a transitional stage of my life, and one that is full of many questions, but one thing is for sure, wherever the next few months take me and whatever I end up doing, hard work, patience and a good cup of tea are all things necessary that I will most certainly need to offer!

Leave a comment